Salty Sweet

It’s not often that I see a recipe and have to make it immediately. Instead, most get their pages dog-eared in a magazine or saved to Delicious and I never get around to them.

One of the first recipes I cut out and saved was from Real Simple and described how to make a variety of truffles. I thought, “Awesome. I’ll make a bunch of different truffles for Christmas and hand them out as gifts!” I’m ashamed to admit, this was in college. I never made the truffles, the recipe got filed away and forgotten like the rest.

However, this recipe for Salted Caramel-Bittersweet Chocolate Truffles was one that I had to make immediately.

I didn’t take pictures of the process, because I was a little worried about making caramel. And I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, because tempering chocolate at 10pm didn’t really appeal to me. So instead of coating the truffles in chocolate, I rolled them in cocoa powder.

I am pleased to report that the end result was flippin awesome. Smooth, sweet chocolate, with crunchy nibs of caramel (because the caramel crystallized in a happy accident) and flakes of sea salt. I will definitely make this again.

IMG_2114

August 30, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. mir replied:

    flippin. sweet. don’t worry, it was my breakfast friday.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

