Dinner Tonight, 9/1/09

IMG_2155

People.

Miriam and I are on a hunt for jicama.

(Side note: please feel free to substitute “jicama” for your favorite blue language sometime. “What the jicama?” Are you out of your jicama mind?” “JICAMA.”)

See, there’s this salad at Amada that Miriam loves, the ensalada verde. It has jicama, which is so, so delicious in salads.

Obviously, we want to recreate this salad. But we can’t find it. So far, we’ve tried Trader Joe’s, Fresh Grocer, SuperFresh, and DiBruno’s. Everyone I’ve asked has given me the same curious look and asked me what jicama was.

Sigh. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Iovine’s is my next stop, but I just need to get there before it closes.

Anyway, that’s what brought me to DiBruno’s today, which is how tonight’s dinner came to be. The manchego was oddly dry, but the jamon was delicious.

September 1, 2009. Uncategorized.

8 Comments

  1. Justin replied:

    Whole foods?

    • sarahdares replied:

      Ooo, good call.

  2. Em replied:

    Enjoying Hunger Games?

    • sarahdares replied:

      Enjoyed. Past tense, because OF COURSE I already finished it.

      I started reading it on Sunday night, finished it last night and LOVED IT.

      I’m saving the second one for this weekend.

  3. cuzin carin replied:

    bought Jicama at Wegman’s. Prepared a salad as seen in Wegman’s magazine, Summer 2008…delish. I’ll find you the recipe in my “archives” aka in the cookbook/ripped recipes pile.

    • sarahdares replied:

      Fantastic!

  4. cuzin carin replied:

    oh yeah, love the Bolt invite. who’s creative genius thought of that for a party theme? Oh wait…a 3 1/2 year old boy.

    • sarahdares replied:

      Hah. I’m still working out how to make Bolt-themed guacamole. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

