Chocolate-Covered Toffee

ATTENTION:

It turns out that toffee is not that hard to make. Even if you don’t have a candy thermometer.

photo.jpg

Since I was thermometer-less, I couldn’t tell when it had reached 295 degrees, but I COULD tell when it had become toffee-colored. Once this slab of toffee-goodness was cool, I was to slather chocolate on top and sprinkle with sea salt (I abandoned the pumpkin seeds, as I didn’t have any on hand).

I foolishly tried to do too many things at once (melt chocolate and wash dishes) and burned the chocolate.

Life lesson: chocolate CAN in fact burn in the microwave.

So I had to trash the $3.00 bag of Scharffen Berger semi-sweet chocolate and instead had to scrounge around in my parents’ refrigerator. I found 9 ounces of baking chocolate (instead of the double batch’s required 12 ounces) and ONLY 9 ounces of baking chocolate.

I melted that and added a LOT of sugar and some vanilla, hoping that would help things. Everything seemed to work out and I brought the pieces with me to Chez Mark&Mary (Mary made an amaaaazing curried pork stew).

I’m definitely making this recipe again (hopefully without any more microwave accidents).

October 18, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

