Dinner Disclosure, 10/20

I wasn’t particularly hungry tonight, but didn’t want to not eat after the gym (that’s right, first visit in waaay too long…playing around on the elliptical is SO not a priority).

photo.jpg

I’m still figuring out polenta. The back of the Bob’s Red Mill bag calls for 6 cups of water and 2 cups of polenta. Obviously, this was way too much for a post-gym snack (“…obviously?” – Miriam). But we’re clearly working with a 3-1 ratio.

I brought 3/4 cups of water and a sprinkling of salt to a boil, sprinkled in 1/4 cup of polenta, lowered it to medium and started stirring. The mixture got pretty thick quickly, so I added another 1/4 cup of water and kept stirring. Then I threw in some frozen peas. It got thick again, so I added another 1/4 cup of water and kept stirring. Once it seemed ready, I mixed in some butter and plated it with a grating of Parmesan.

I think this is going to be a big part of the winter dinner routine. I’m already thinking about polenta toppings, like the broccoli rabe I got at Wegman’s this weekend, or a fried egg, or whatever veg I have on hand. Or fruit! Can that be done? I have frozen cherries, I might try that for a sweet polenta dish some night…

October 20, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

