Dinner Disclosure, 10/21

I hadn’t given much thought to dinner tonight, but inspiration struck while I was packing up to leave work.

Jacket.

Potato.

The backstory:

I decided to take a vacation before law school, perhaps anticipating that these kinds of trips would be few and far between once I graduated (have we talked about vacation days? Be thankful if we haven’t). I’d always wanted to go to London and I’m so glad I went. Going there felt like going home.

P4170004

P4180150

P4200217

P4210226

P4210239

I had bought a deck of cards with walking tours that started and stopped at Tube stations and used them created day-long itineraries by linking the cards together. One day, I headed to the Borough Market and managed to completely miss the GIANT entrance. I ended up finding the market eventually (pretty sure I got high off the cheese fumes from Neal’s Yard) and then headed to Vinopolis where I tried many many wines. At this point, I needed major sustenance. Enter the jacket potato:

P4180129

Baked potato with unhealthy amounts of cheese, bacon, and butter. Garnished with an insulting sprig of greenery. Needing only HP sauce and then employed to soak up wines from around the world.

People, my life was changed that day.

So that being said, dinner tonight:

photo.jpg

Sweet potato, baked for an hour in foil at 400 degrees.

Hack inch or so off of frozen-together bacon, chop up and fry.

Scoop out bacon, set aside.

Pour off bacon fat, add a little olive oil, saute onion and garlic til soft.

Throw in two big handfuls of rappi (which is definitely broccoli rabe, but also part of a snake’s name, FYI, careful Googling), and some water, cover and cook until done. Stir in some butter at that point.

Smoosh up the baked potato, put greens on top. Sprinkle with bacon bits, because bacon makes it better.

October 21, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. car car replied:

    bacon, potato, cheese. 3 out of the top 5. (the other 2 of course because we are italian…garlic, pasta)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

