Breakfast, the most important meal of the day

I woke up this morning, made some tea and sat down to watch Sunday Morning and continue the waking up process. Turns out, it was a food-centric episode, with stories on cooking for one (Judith Jones, you are one awesome lady) and Sonoran hot dogs (Mmm, bacon wrapped hot dogs topped with all sorts of goodness). And then I decided to start working my way through Tivoed Barefoot Contessa episodes.

And then I was STARVING.

So off to the fridge to assess the contents. I had a bit of red pepper and a few mushrooms, so I started sauteing those with some onion in a mix of olive oil and red pepper oil.

IMG_2708

I unearthed a few slices of turkey and one slice of Havarti leftover from the previous week’s packed lunches. Once the veggies were nice and caramelized, I pushed them to the side and heated up the turkey slices. Those were laid on some toast and the veggies placed on top. Sunny side eggs were placed on top and each got a half of the Havarti.

IMG_2709

(Yes, this was a massive breakfast, but was also counting as lunch, oh I believe we’ve come up with a word for that, yes?)

After brunch (look at me, using words!), I resisted the urge to nap and pushed on through some rather boring housework. Seems like such a waste of a free Sunday to spend it doing laundry.

And THEN…then I used my new Le Creuset for the first time.

photo.jpg
(When we met)

IMG_2711

I cubed the Hubbard squash seen in the above picture and cooked it in a mixture of chicken broth and apple cider. Once the pieces were smooshy, I pureed it with an immersion blender. MmSoup. The rest of the evening has been spent rearranging the living room, watching The Thin Man (just as good as everyone said it’d be and I want to watch all other films immediately) and Spaceballs.

Happy end of weekend!

November 22, 2009. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. marisakm replied:

    I totally missed the food-centric Sunday Morning. I can’t believe it.

    And, yay for a gorgeous new Le Creuset! How fun!

    • sarahdares replied:

      I keep missing Sunday Morning…my love of sleeping in knows very few bounds…I was so glad I managed to catch this one!

      And I’m so in love with the Le Creuset…it’s just so pretty!

  2. Ch-ch-changes « Sarahdares replied:

    […] Yesterday, after cutting up the Hubbard squash, I thought I’d add the Delicata as well. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

