Burger Club Meating #10

I’ve been following the founding and general awesomeness of Burger Club Philly, but could NOT manage to get to one of the “meatings.” They usually started at 6pm and I couldn’t get out of work early enough. Then I found out that the 10th one would be at National Mechanics, which was pretty perfect.

I rounded up some friends to join me, but got there before they arrived. The slight awkwardness of being there by my lonesome was helped by my tweeting about it (don’t lie, you play with your phone when it happens to you) AND by Jess being unbelievably nice. She did a superb job putting the event together. There were scorecards and even more amazingly, only TWO CHECKS that were paid for with minimum angst. There were multiple tables of people! Honestly, I’ve seen two people almost come to blows over one check and (from what I saw when I dropped off my portion) this one was just…managed.

It. Was. Beautiful.

On to the burger!

IMG_2737

I’ve never eaten at National Mechanics before. Apparently the veggie burger is a thing of gloriousness, but I went with the regular burger. And wasn’t that impressed. The bun was overly chewy and the meat was pretty bland. However, the fries and pickle were delicious. I probably wouldn’t order this again, but I will definitely back to try the veggie burger.

December 16, 2009. Philly.

2 Comments

  1. Jess replied:

    Thank you for your very kind words about burger club. It was so great to meet you! Our waitress was pretty amazing, I hope she gets a raise or something.

    • sarahdares replied:

      It was great to meet you as well! And yes, she totally deserves a raise – I was VERY impressed with their service. Nothing like 5 tables full of people all demanding burgers at the same time to test a restaurant’s mettle 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

