Christmas Dinner

Last year, I hosted a family get-together in my apartment. I made a big pan of ziti and a bunch of meatballs and sausage in sauce. Super easy. I actually made the food the weekend before and just heated everything that day.

This year, I thought it’d be a good idea to make Bouef Bourguignon. I could make it the day before and just heat it up the next day.

Great plan.

Except.

That was the weekend of the snow. I trudged out on Saturday to Trader Joe’s and Reading Terminal Market, with a brief detour to see the Comcast Holiday Spectacular, all the while wondering if the family would be able to get into the city the next day.

Of course, they did not. And I was left with approximately 7 quarts of bouef. I divvied it up between two giant freezer bags and froze it, figuring I’d decide what to do with it later.

Conveniently, Christmas was the following week! So I brought it home and that’s what we had for Christmas Day dinner.

IMG_2777

Along side it, we had roasted asparagus and roasted potatoes.

January 8, 2010. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. jaime leah replied:

    i have never made that before, but have always wanted to! i get a little freaked out by meat…i never know how to cook it properly.

    • sarahdares replied:

      Same here! It’s a fine line between “cooked just right” and “deadly.”

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

