Chloe, 1/7/10

Chloe is a BYO that doesn’t take reservations and I feel a sense of smug superiority every time I walk by and see people hanging out outside on Friday and Saturday nights with their brown-bagged bottles of wine, waiting for a table to open up.

I feel said sense of smug superiority because Chloe is in my neighborhood and weekday visits where we can waltz right in are completely reasonable and often unplanned. Like a few Thursdays ago, when Miriam suggested we go there for dinner.

photo.jpg

I started with the Beet Salad. Roasted beets, mandarin oranges, buttermilk blue cheese, mixed greens, toasted pecans, reduced balsamic dressing. I could have done with more beets, but that’s because I love beets and will always want more.

photo.jpg

Before I get to the next dish, check out this silverware! Love the little fork, which came in handy…

photo.jpg

With the mussels! So, I had actually managed to squeeze in a trip to the gym before dinner and I thought I’d get something lighter for my entree, so as not to undo that half-hour on the elliptical. Mussels seemed like a good choice, seafood in a nice broth.

Well.

Let me tell you why these are now my favorite mussels in the city.

Butter.

Lovely, creamy, rich butter.

So they were probably not the lightest dish on the menu, but daaaaaaaaaaang y’all. These were bigger mussels, which I think means they were from New Zealand? If so, that’s another reason to go to New Zealand (first reason: find and stay in a hobbit house). Deliciousness of the mussels aside, the buttery sauce was ridiculous. I was using the shells as a vehicle to scoop it up and at the end used the bread to soak up the remaining sauce.

Even though I’m full from my dinner of sardines on toast (consider me a brisling-convert) and just ate a few freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies, I could totally go for some more of these mussels right now.

January 23, 2010. Philly.

One Comment

  1. Yes, words are useless! Gobble-gobble-gobble-gobble-gobble! Too much of it, darling, too much!* « Sarahdares replied:

    […] Dinner tonight was at Eulogy, which was running a free soup with grilled cheese special. I went with the beer mussels instead, but they were sadly dwarfed by the memory of Chloe’s. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

