GO FOR DINNER

A quick trip to Sue’s yielded a bag full of veggies (carrots and celery are much better for crunching away one’s emotions than chips, as they yield a much more satisfying crunch) and some tofu and the original plan for dinner was a big ole stir fry. Check out this asparagus!

DSC_0162

I assembled the fresh ingredients and realized I still had a bunch of buckwheat noodles, so those were added in as well.

I got home at 7, did some yoga, cooked and ate dinner, talked to my mom on the phone, and was putting leftovers away by 8:30. Flippin sweet. I’ve been trying to get to bed by 10,* so this left me a whopping hour and a half to talk to Miriam about our respective days and watch How I Met Your Mother and Glee.

I’m using this stream of conscious recipe format again, because quite frankly, I can’t really remember everything I did precisely.

Put pot of water on stove to boil, put pan on to heat with sesame oil and chili oil, chop onion and add to pan. Slice up asparagus and yellow squash, add to pan once onion looks wilty and brown. Oh wait! Go back to the beginning, cube and marinate half a block of tofu in some yakisoba sauce.

Noodles should have gone into boiling water at some point and will probably be done by now, save a teacup full of the starchy water, drain rest and rinse the noodles. Add a scoop of miso paste to the starchy water and mix. Add a few dashes of sesame/chili oil. Think about adding more, but practice discretion.

Add the tofu to the veggies and then add the miso broth to the formerly-occupied-by-tofu bowl. Use the broth to rinse the bowl of its marinade/sauce and slide in the rinsed noodles. Let’m hang out for a while.

When the veggies and tofu seem cooked, add in the noodles and broth and let percolate** for a while.

DSC_0164

Then, mangia.

Dessert was an amaaaaazing mango (from India, apparently, and therefore most delicious) sprinkled with lime juice and cayenne pepper. I thought I remembered hearing of such a dish before, and figured I’d experiment with it to see if I liked it. I do. I like it a lot. The mango was super sweet on its own and the lime juice helped to cut that, but the pepper made it…I really don’t want to use such a trite phrase as “took it to another level” but I swear that’s exactly what happened. It was like the the acid and the heat were playing off the mango in different and delicious ways.

*Whoops, posting this closer to 11. Ah well.

**Psst. Has everyone watched Posh Nosh? Start with the first episode, there’s only nine or so. Go, go!

May 18, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

