Howdy

Dinner has consisted of a lot of rice and kimchi lately (NO TIME), but I did assemble a dish the other night that was slightly…dangerous.

See, I had brought home a bunch of leftovers from the Robert Burns supper and thought I’d put together a sort of shepherd’s pie with some haggis, courgettes and tatties&neaps. But then I put them in the freezer, reasoning that I’d make it soon! Such a wintery dish, it’d just beg to be made soon!

Erm. And then that didn’t happen. While cleaning out the freezer last week, I found the pieces and decided that January wasn’t *that* long ago. And they were frozen, so they’d probably be ok?

What can I say, I like to live dangerously.

The dish was going to be a layer of the haggis, crumbled a bit, then the courgettes, then the tatties&neaps. But I decided that the three parts by themselves would result in a pretty dry dish, which would have been disappointing. So I found a can of beef stock, soon to expire (probably liberated from my parents’ basement pantry of food-that-time-forgot), and made gravy.

Boo-yah.

I find there is something incredibly empowering about cooking in general, something about being able to not only feed oneself, but do it well. That being said, that feeling is amplified by 100 when I make gravy. Just three ingredients – fat, flour, stock (ok, and some dried herbs) and wah-bam! Gravy. Awesome.

The dish came together in about a half hour, maybe 45 minutes and didn’t kill me. I didn’t think it would, but you never know with leftovers.

June 24, 2010. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Mom replied:

    Hmm those leftovers if in our frig and discovered by you…would have been tossed! So they turned out to be not so terrible! Great news!
    Love
    Mom

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

