Dinner Disclosure, 11/8/10

Tonight I came home with the intention of creating a big pot of stew to eat for lunch and dinner this week. I sauteed carrots, onion and green pepper with some garlic and then added white and sweet potatoes as well as some ground turkey.

Then, remember my question about the schmaltz?

I decided to use that to make a super thin gravy – schmaltz, flour, chicken stock. Then, because I realized there wasn’t enough chicken stock, I made a quick vegetable stock with the ends of onions and carrots and let that simmer away while I was getting everything else ready.

Once combined, I let everything meld together while I cleaned up.

But while I was washing the dishes, I realized I didn’t really want turkey stew for dinner.

Luckily, I have quite a few Brussels sprouts (really, that’s how it’s spelled?). I sliced them thinly and sauteed them in some butter and olive oil and topped the lot with a fried egg.

November 8, 2010. Dinner Disclosure.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

