Having it all

I was conflicted tonight.

I had tickets to see Amanda Hesser, Madhur Jaffrey and Judith Jones at the library. But it had been what felt like an endless day and I didn’t feel like schlepping all the way to the library and then home. It was dark. I was hungry. It was cold.

I thought about heading to Nan Zhou for some soupy noodles instead of going to the library. Mm, delicious noodles in hot, tasty broth.

But while I didn’t want to trek all the way up to the library, I also didn’t want to have missed the event. Yes, I had just met Amanda Hesser last night, but JUDITH JONES.

JUDITH JONES.

I decided it’d be a decision for 17th and Market. When I got to that cross-street, I’d choose which way to go: towards the library, or towards Nan Zhou.

You’re dying to know which one I picked, aren’t you? I’m so good at building suspense.

I went to the library, listened to three women talk about topics near and dear to my heart (organics: yay or nay? and blogs: what’s up with those guys?), had JUDITH JONES sign my copy of The Pleasures of Cooking for One and then walked to Nan Zhou for a late dinner.

Random thought from the walk home: If had the TARDIS noise as my ring tone, I could find fellow nerds so much easier.

December 9, 2010. Philly.

4 Comments

  1. Askew Adventures replied:

    that would be SO awesome to have the TARDIS noise as your ring tone!!

    • sarahdares replied:

      I WOULD BE THE COOLEST

  2. Linda replied:

    Is that duck I see in that soup? If so, well chosen!

    • sarahdares replied:

      It is! I went with duck, but kind of wished I had gone with the brisket, because it haunts my dreams.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

