Rambling

Last week, I was challenged to make…

Wait, let me back up.

A longer time ago, two of my coworkers gave me this:

IMG_0133

And if you don’t know what that is (it’s a TARDIS), please go look at this page and then come back.

It’s not quite evident from the picture, but this isn’t just any old TARDIS. Oh, no. It’s a cookie jar SHAPED like a TARDIS. Furthermore, when you open the lid and subsequently close it, it makes the oh so distinctive “vworp vworp” noise that the TARDIS makes.

Anyway. Linda and John gave me said cookie jar with one caveat.

That I keep it filled with cookies.

Fast forward to last week, when Linda challenged me to make these cookies.

No, you’re not reading that incorrectly. Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies. Chocolate chip cookies stuffed with Oreo cookies.

Wait. Another story.

When I worked for the funnel cake stand, we didn’t just sell funnel cakes topped with powdered sugar. Oh no. We also sold funnel cakes with a variety of toppings (fruit, candy, syrups) AND fried Oreos. The way we described it was an Oreo cookie, dipped in funnel cake batter and fried. The process made the cookies really soft, like a devil’s food cake. While my funnel cake eating days are over (I will never unsmell what 100s of funnel cakes smell like), I’d have no problem eating a fried Oreo.

I figured that’s what this would taste like.

IMG_0185

It’s difficult to give you an idea of the size of these, but keep in mind there’s a full Oreo cookie in each. And the amount of cookie dough is roughly double what I would normally make for one cookie, because the dough has to wrap around the Oreo.

IMG_0186

This is what happens when you don’t seal the cookie dough around the Oreo – gaps!

IMG_0187

And here are the innards.

Linda and John will get to taste them tomorrow when I fill up the TARDIS, but I had to have one tonight. Quality control, you know.

I split one with roommate Gabe and that was quite enough. I think if I make these again, I’d omit some of the sugar from the cookie dough – these are ridiculously sweet.

The only other thing I cooked this weekend were these:

IMG_0184

Roasted organic veggies from my share of the box I split with Jordan and Dr. Lindsay (who matched to her first choice for residency because she’s awesome). There are multi-hued carrots, fennel, and green beans tossed with olive oil and sprinkled with salt.

And now for some mint tea and Big Night.

Va bene. Va molto bene.

March 27, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

