Red Beans and Rice

Over Christmas, the family did our traditional Christmas Eve tree buying jaunt, complete with a visit to the Indian grocery store for samosas. While there, Dad picked up a bag of beans for my brother and I – Christmas presents. I got a bag of red beans and LJ got a bag of black-eyed peas.

I prepped the 2 pounds of beans this weekend. Half went into the freezer with their cooking liquid, and the other half was used in tonight’s dinner.

I rendered down some bacon in coconut oil and then added onion, garlic and random spices. I used some Weyerbacher golden ale to deglaze the pan – holy hell, that smelled good.

I added the beans, as well as some (previously frozen) leftover turkey and chicken broth, then let the pot simmer away until the liquid had reduced enough.

Served with rice!

20120109-200753.jpg

January 9, 2012. Dinner Disclosure.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

